wholly-owned byRCSIUCD Dublin

Pre-Medical Foundation Year

R/010/3/0099 (A7144)

leading to National University Ireland (NUI) medical degree programme with RCSI, UCD and PMC

The Foundation Year extends over two semesters, delivered in Semester I [September to January] and Semester II [January to June]. Each semester comprises 12 direct-contact teaching weeks, 1 week of revision and 2 weeks of examinations and provides students with a solid grounding in the biomedical sciences as well as providing them with the necessary IT skills to operate effectively within the College’s Virtual Learning Environment (VLE). The course is delivered as a series of stand-alone and integrated modules with modularised assessment.

The FY modular structure conforms to the European Credit Transfer System (ECTS). The programme consists of 8 modules, amounting to 60 ECTS credits in total.  Some modules carry 5 credits while others carry 10. The rationale behind the introduction of 10 credit modules into the FY was primarily to decrease the assessment burden on students in semester I (being mindful of the challenges faced by some students on making the transition to third level education).

Each module is assessed independently. In order to progress into Junior Cycle (Medicine), students must complete and satisfactorily pass the assessment for EACH module as outlined in the FY Marks & Standards.

The Foundation Year programme is structured as follows:

Table 1: FY Curriculum

Semester I


Semester II
Module 1: Introduction to Medical Physics (5 credits)
Module 2: Medicinal and Pharmaceutical Chemistry (10 credits)
Module 3: Introduction to Human Biology (5 credits)
Module 4: Human Systems I – Skin/Musculo-Skeletal System and Nervous System/Special Senses (10 credits)
Module 5: Human Systems II – Cardiovascular/Immune/GIT/Excretory Systems and Reproduction/Endocrine/Respiratory Systems (10 credits)
Module 6: Professionalism in the Health Sciences (10 credits)
Module 7: Introduction to Disease, Diagnostics & Therapeutics (5 credits)
Module 8: Biomedical Laboratory Sciences (5 credits)